Quest For The Perfect Blueberry Muffin Recipe

December 10, 2009 at 5:13 pm | Posted in Aprons, Food Talk | Leave a comment

My quest this week was to find the perfect blueberry muffin recipe. In my internet wonderings, I came across a terrific site called Not without Salt. Ashley of Not without Salt is not only a talented baker, but also a gifted photographer.The site is so elegant with its beautiful photography and the wonderful recipes look so enticing that you will definitely be inspired.

So I decided to try The Classic Blueberry Muffins-the step by step pictures were oh so helpful. Ashley added a few recommendations at the bottom of the recipe. I took her advice and changed a few things-first, I substituted buttermilk and added 1/8 tsp. baking soda. Next, for the topping, instead of using 1/2 cup of white sugar, I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. I did like the crispy topping that formed on the tops.  And last, I used frozen blueberries-I know, fresh is definitely better. This was a little tricky because I had to let them come to room temperature, drain them with a paper towel, and stir them in ever so gently. Oh yeah, one more thing, I had to bake them slightly longer than 15 minutes-more like 18-but that might just be my oven. All in all I think my first attempt at blueberry muffins was a success, thanks to the wonderful recipe from Not without Salt.

Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry Muffins

If you’re looking to do some holiday baking, check out Not without Salt for some wonderful inspirational ideas and recipes. Also, visit Meggie Mae Aprons for some trendy holiday gift ideas.

Merry Christmas!

~Karin~

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

