Best Dessert of the Year?

January 5, 2010 at 3:21 pm | Posted in Food Talk | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You all know I love to bake. I’ve been baking non-stop since Halloween! My first attempt at a recipe for the New Year appears on this month’s front cover of Food and Wine Magazine. It was named the dessert of the year-Butterscotch Sticky Buns.  In my opinion, sticky buns are not a dessert-they are like a pastry served at breakfast. So really, I don’t feel like this should have been named “Dessert” of the year, but who’s complaining?? Anyway, they looked so yummy staring at me from the front cover, I had to grab an apron and start bake them.

I’d have to say, they turned out very pretty, and the irresistible icing drizzled perfectly into all the folds of the little buns and absorbed into the bottom oh so right. But the downside was my dough turned out a little dense-probably had something to do with the yeast and temperature of the milk (I think it was too warm). Served hot, right out of the oven-oh who could resist?  Overall, I’d say the first treat of the New Year was delicious! But best dessert of the year? That will need some testing. I’ll let you know in December how it holds up.

Happy Baking!

Butterscotch Sticky Buns

~Karin~

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

