My Favorite Healthy Meal-Fish Tacos!

January 22, 2010 at 2:03 pm | Posted in Aprons, Food Talk, Recipes | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve made it ½ way through my 21 day resolution! No sugar, sugar substitutes, or processed flour-and through that I’ve made cappuccino brownies and Mississippi mud cake, without a drop of sugar entering my mouth!  I’m feeling pretty good about it, although I am really looking forward to the time when I can have some sugar once again. I have a hard time looking at dessert pictures-there are lots of recipes I’m now dreaming of making; I can’t wait to try them all!

Fish taco-healthy eating at its best!

But really, I’ve found some great healthy recipes. My favorite to prepare this week were my Fish Tacos. Fish tacos are my favorite! I consider myself an expert on fish tacos. The best are at La Playa in Port Aransas, Texas. Mine are second. Sometimes I dip the fish in Panko bread crumbs and fry it (not healthy but oh so yummy), but I enjoy grilled fish the most. I have used tilapia, mahi mahi, and orange roughy.  For frying, tilapia works great. For grilling-I prefer mahi mahi. This particular night I had orange roughy because that’s what looked the freshest in the store.  Grilled fish, mango salsa and purple cabbage slaw drizzled with a special sauce all served on soft corn tortillas, alongside seasoned black beans and fresh guacamole. Oh yeah, it was delicious!

Here’s a great recipe (not mine, but a good one) from Food and Wine Magazine-check it out!

http://tinyurl.com/n4epaq

One night I made a Frittata with eggs, spinach, bacon bits, red onion, and sliced black olives with feta cheese sprinkled over the top and served alongside fresh fruit (blueberries, tangerines, and apple slices.) This was a quick, delicious meal for a busy night, but would also be great at breakfast served with toast. There are many Frittata recipes online, just add your favorite ingredients. It’s like making a quiche, only without the crust. This is a tasty and satisfying dish, as well as very colorful. Here’s a great recipe from www.simplyrecipes.com http://tinyurl.com/cs7rn6

Enjoy your week by spend some time cooking your favorite meal or trying a new recipe-you will be very satisfied with your efforts and your family will love it!

The 'Amy' full apron

~Karin~

Follow us on these social sites:

www.meggiemaeaprons.com

www.facebook.com/meggiemaeapron

www.twitter.com/meggiemaeaprons

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

