Healthy Ideas for Breakfast and Dinner

January 29, 2010 at 2:12 pm | Posted in Food Talk, Recipes | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I’m on day 18 of my no sugar, no flour 21 day resolution! I have to admit, I did splurge and have some of the chocolate cheesecake I made, but other than that, I’ve stayed the course. I’m almost there! I do feel better without the sugar and flour coursing through my veins. But to tell you the truth, can’t wait to start baking! Life is meant to be celebrated, and what’s a celebration without cake?

We’ll, this week I did try some outstanding recipes. My first was Rosemary Trout with Cherry Tomato Sauce from Food & Wine magazine. This is such a fast and easy meal to make and it’s the perfect winter dish-it has a warm,  carmel color  and is light and flavorful. I used trout filets with the skin on for my dinner served with steamed asparagus, Greek salad and crusty whole grain bread.

Rosemary Trout with Cherry -Tomato Sauce

4 servings. A couple of rosemary sprigs are all you need to flavor each whole trout.

Fish

1 pint cherry tomatoes (preferably assorted color), halves
1 large shallot, chopped
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh rosemary plus 8 large sprigs
4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
Coarse kosher salt
4 -10 to 12 ounce whole trout, gutted, boned, heads removed, if desired

Mix tomatoes, shallot, vinegar and chopped rosemary in bowl. Stir in 1 tablespoon oil.
Season sauce with salt and pepper.
Open trout like book on work surface. Sprinkle with coarse salt and pepper.
Place 2 rosemary springs on each; fold over to close.
Divide 3 tablespoons oil between 2 large nonstick skillets. Place over medium-high heat.
Add 2 trout to each skillet. Cook trout until brown outside and just opaque in center, about
3 minutes per side. Transfer to plates. Spoon sauce alongside.

My next dish I enjoyed was for breakfast-although it could be a dessert as well-whole wheat fruit crepes.  I love crepes because you can make them easily, they are lighter than tortillas, and you can fill them with just about anything to make a terrific meal. I filled mine with fresh fruit and non-fat plain yogurt, with a dollop of fresh whipped cream (no sugar added). These are so delish! I’ve made crepes before, but this whole-grain recipe filled with fruit is one of my favorites.  I can make a batch, wrap them between parchment paper, and they keep in the fridge up to 4 days.

Wheat Crepes –adapted from The Sonoma Diet Cookbook

Whole-wheat Crepes

2 eggs

2/3 cup water

½ cup milk

1 TB olive oil

1 cup whole wheat flour

pinch of salt

In a small bowl blend the eggs, water, milk and olive oil. In a large bowl mix the whole-wheat flour and salt. Make a well in the flour. Slowly stir the liquid ingredients into the flour until thoroughly combined.

Let set at room temperature for 15-20 minutes. Coat a non-stick skillet with spray oil. Heat skillet on medium-low heat. Pour batter into skillet. You might have to lift the skillet and swirl the batter to get it to spread. Heat for 2-3 minutes on each side. Transfer to a platter and continue with the remaining batter. Place parchment paper between crepes.

These healthy fruit crepes are easy to put together in the morning if you slice your fruit the night before. Then the next morning just spread your fruit and yogurt in the crêpe, wrap in cellophane, grab your coffee, and you’re out the door.

The 'Lisa' Apron

I hope these recipes get you off to a great start!

~Karin~

Valentine’s Day will soon be here. Order your apron today!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

