Chicken Pot Pie-Perfect For A Cold Winter Night

February 5, 2010 at 3:29 pm | Posted in Recipes | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

I made it through my 21 days without sugar, flour, or fast food! O.k., so I did splurge twice for special occasions, but I still feel better having rid myself of sugar and processed flour. I didn’t realize how sugar affected my mood until I went off it totally. I will certainly cut back on the amount of sugar I consume.  Also, with all the fruit I was eating, that had to have some positive effects, right? I have started back on flour as well, but only in small amounts-like in the recipe that follows.

This week was dark, cold and rainy- just the type of weather for some homemade chicken pot pie. I started following a recipe from some unnamed source, but it was soooo unnecessarily complicated that I took it in my own direction. I was happy with the results. Here’s the recipe for

Karin’s Chicken Pot Pie

1 ¼ cup flour
½ tsp salt
1 stick butter, cold, cut into small cubes
5-6 Tbsp. ice water
1 egg yolk, blended with 1 Tbsp water for glaze (optional)

4 chicken breasts, skinless, cut into 1 inch pieces
Salt/pepper to taste

5 + 2 Tbsp. butter, melted
5 Tbsp. flour
4+ 2 Tbsp. olive oil
½ onion, diced
3 stalks of celery, diced
4 carrots, diced
¼ tsp. dried thyme
1 clove garlic, finely diced
¾ cup dry white wine
3 cups chicken broth
1 ½ cups frozen green peas
¼ cup fresh parsley, finely chopped or 1 ½  tsp dried

Crust:
Mix flour and salt in a large bowl. Cut in cold butter until you have pea size lumps. Pour in the water, 1 tablespoon at a time, mixing with your hands. Add enough water to where you have a good dough, but not wet or soggy. On parchment paper, flatten dough to a 9 x 13 rectangle. Place on a cookie sheet and put in the fridge.

In a large skillet, heat 4 Tbsp of olive oil, add the chicken, season with salt and pepper.  Cook until well done. Remove from skillet and set aside.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
Mix 5 Tbsp. flour and 5 Tbsp. of melted butter until smooth. Set aside. Melt remaining 2 Tbsp. butter and 2 Tbsp. oil in the skillet on Med-high. Add the celery, onion, and carrots. Sauté until soft, about 10 minutes. Add thyme and garlic, cook 3 minutes. Add wine, cook about 5 minutes. Add chicken broth and simmer. Slowly whisk in butter/flour mixture a little at a time.  Simmer until the sauce thickens, stirring often, about 4 minutes. Stir in chicken, peas, cream, and parsley. Add salt and pepper to taste. Pour into a 9X13 baking dish.

Remove crust from the fridge. Place on top of the chicken mixture. Brush with yolk/water glaze. Bake in the oven on middle rack for 15 minutes.

Turn on broiler. Place pie in the top half of the oven. Broil until top is a golden brown-about 2-3 minutes.
Remove pie, let rest 5 minutes. Serve with a simple side salad and there you have a delicious, warm chicken pie for a cold winter night. I placed mine in 2 round baking dishes, since I knew my family would not finish this whole pie in one night.  We ate one and I froze the other for another night. You could also use rotisserie chicken so you can skip that step. Also, if you wanted a meat pie, you could make it with beef and use red wine instead of the white.

Keep warm and have a wonderful week!

~Karin~

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

